SLiM login manager on Slackware

Today I installed SLiM and have switched to it completely.

Following are the two things I did.
1. I changed the ‘sessions’ line in the /etc/slim.conf file as follows:
Xfce4,KDE4,Fluxbox,Blackbox

The names should match exactly like the case entries given below.

2. I also changed my ~/.xinitrc file to the following. It is taken from archlinux wiki.

# The following is taken from archwiki.
# Source: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/SLiM
# which inturn is taken from the following
# Source: http://svn.berlios.de/svnroot/repos/slim/trunk/xinitrc.sample

DEFAULT_SESSION=startxfce4

case $1 in
KDE4)
exec ck-launch-session startkde
;;
Fluxbox)
exec ck-launch-session startfluxbox
;;
Blackbox)
exec ck-launch-session blackbox
;;
*)
exec ck-launch-session $DEFAULT_SESSION
;;
esac

It is said SLiM 1.3.3 onwards is ConsoleKit ready. But I run 1.3.2 on my Slackbox. So have added ‘ck-launch-session’ to ‘exec’ lines. If I’m wrong, hopefully someone would correct me.

It also tried to change default theme to ‘slackware-black’ theme. The change itself works but I’m not able to choose sessions with F1. Its not that with black background the options are not visible. I tried to press F1 couple of times and the login. It still logs into default session. Have to check later.

Leave a Reply

